New things…springing forth

I’m back to the world of blogging.  I started blogging in 2005 as a way to process my grief while caring for my terminally ill parents.  I wish I’d have backed up my work, we had a server problem, and I lost everything.  There were poems, things my kids said, memories of my last days with my Momma…all gone.

Up until this time, I had been blessed to be a stay at home mom, I homeschooled my kids (which came in very handy while travelling six hours every other week to care for my parents), and took care of my home.  After Mom passed away, I went back to work, for a variety of reasons, we felt the Lord leading this way.  I did the only thing I felt I knew, walked next door to the Assisted living facility and applied for a job.  I felt with the experience I had just been through with my own parents, I was qualified to help care for someone else’s.  It worked, I can’t believe I’ve been doing this stuff for five years.

In 2009, my husband’s mom passed away.  She had been sick for awhile, and on his trips back to see her, he contracted irreversible homesickness.  He found that he qualified for citizenship through government reform of citizenship law in Canada.  We began praying and talking about moving back.  We started looking into what it would take to immigrate myself and our two youngest girls to Canada.  We’re in the process of filing paperwork, looking for a job, and purging through a household of 23 years’ worth of accumulation, paring down to only keep what we need and/or love.

The title of my blog came from a ladies retreat I attended in 2003, where I received a word I believed to be from the Lord.  It was the verse from my blog banner, and I truly believed that He was telling me not to dwell on the past, because He was ready to do a new thing in my life.  Little did I know that the “new thing” would include burying my parents, putting my kids in school, church hopping, teenage rebellion, family counseling, planning two weddings in four months, becoming Catholic, becoming a Grammy, and making plans to move to another country.  I truly have come to understand in a very real, very personal way the following lyrics:

Welcome to my journey.  Walk with me.

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

