3-points

That’s how many points the elk had on his rack.  It’s also how many points the Lord drove home to me Friday night.

We were driving to visit our daughter down in Southern Idaho, and to bring her two sisters back with us after having spent their spring break with her.  I had shared with Kevin the devotion that I had chosen to bring that morning to the residents at the long term care facility where I work.  It was taken from Isaiah 51:15-16.  For I am the LORD your God, who stirs up the sea and its waves roar (the LORD of hosts is His name).
 16“I have put My words in your mouth and have covered you with the shadow of My hand.  I focused on God being in control of the storms in our lives, and stirring things up for the purpose of drawing us near himself, and the confidence we can have in a loving God who hides us in the shadow of his hand.  We can trust Him.  Then, as I often do on car trips, I leaned my head back, closed my eyes, and dozed off.

I was awakened when I heard my husband exclaim “whoa!”, opened my eyes in time to see something large and white in front of the car, followed by complete darkness, a loud “bang”, and smoke in my eyes, all in a matter of a split second, it seemed.  I remember crying out, “Jesus, Lord Jesus, help us”, then realizing our car had come to a stop.  Both of us asking one another “are you alright?”, then stumbling out of the car.

A couple traveling the opposite direction stopped and assisted us to call 911.  They witnessed the whole incident, an elk had run out in front of our car, and Kevin was unable to stop by the time he saw him.  The car is a mess, airbags caught much of the broken windshield. I don’t know how we walked away from it.  The man happened to be a Physician’s Assistant, and checked us over before the ambulance arrived.  His girlfriend was a vet student, and took off to check on the elk.  He was about 50 yards behind us, had rolled into the ditch on the side.  So hard was he hit, that one side of his rack was about five feet away from him, completely snapped off.

A tow truck was called, and lest we forget the main point the Lord was making this night, our wrecker wore it on his cap “Jesus is Lord”.  Almost like God’s signature, right there on the spot.

In retrospect, I read through the entire chapter of Isaiah 51, so I could get it in context.  The three points God drove home to me thorugh this storm, were all found in the verses that I read out loud that very morning to encourage our residents.

1.  I am the Lord your God (the main point, Jesus is Lord!)
2.  I’m the One controlling your storms, I like to stir things up to make you remember Me.
3.  I have you safe and protected in the shadow of my hand.

And like a P.S. I can’t escape the one little phrase that I didn’t touch on in my devotion, but that haunts my thoughts when all is quiet and my mind replays the events of Friday, March 18.  “I will put my words in your mouth”.  I’m amazed.  And humbled.  In awe.  And very thankful.

4 comments on “3-points

  1. Pingback: One year ago this weekend | New Things

  2. Reblogged this on New Things and commented:

    It was two years yesterday since I wrote this piece after nearly being killed on Highway 91. I can still see that elk trying to come through my window. Shivers.

    • Thanks, Lori! Great is His faithfulness to us…his mercies are new every morning, and He holds us close, protecting, guiding, and directing. Blessings to you, sweet sister! Love you.

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

