Ask, and you shall receive

I asked God to teach me patience.  He did.  He is.  I have been continually waiting since I prayed that prayer.  Patience doesn’t come immediately after the “amen”, it comes after trial, and test, and time…sometimes lots of time.

I asked God to give me strength and endurance.  He did.  He is.  I’ve never been through so rigorous a workout, never been so bone tired.  Strength and endurance do not come immediately after the “amen”, they come from stretching and breaking tissue that will heal and rebuild itself, making itself stronger.  They come from consistently running longer and more rigorous trails; through hills and valleys, along stretches that seem to have no end, then “just a little farther”, pushing past the breaking point and beyond.

I asked to be able to love as He does.  I asked for peace.  I asked for joy.  He answered my requests by surrounding me with prickly people who need love.  He put me in the middle of chaos.  He filled my little world with pain, and loss, and grief.  The fruit of the Spirit doesn’t come after the “amen”.  That fruit comes from cultivating a heart response of “Yes, Lord”, to His commands; it comes from practice.

6 comments on “Ask, and you shall receive

  1. Reblogged this on New Things and commented:

    Talking to my daughter today reminded me of this post. I’m still saying Amen and expecting the answer immediately. Practice makes perfect.

  2. Thanks for the re-blog. What a lovely post Lyn. Girl, if they put you and I in the same paper sack, shook the sack, and threw us on the ground they would not know which one was who! 😉 I have prayed for all of these things so many times. “Patience” is my “biggy” though. You know when I did pray for it, did all the “trials” ever begin to come. Though they did indeed give me some “patience” that is one prayer, I do not pray often anymore. 🙂 I just say, “Lord you know I am impatient, forgive me, but You made me.” I kind of leave it there, because when I actually “prayed for them,” oh brother! 🙂 Maybe that is not real “holy” of me, but I do not want to go through that again! At least I am honest! 🙂 Loved the post and God Bless, SR

    • SR, I know. I FEEL like I’ve been stuck in a bag and shaken, at least it’s comforting to know I have a kindred spirit in the same bag, lol.

      I was talking with my daughter today, and she reminded me of when she was a preschooler, she brought me a book, and said she wanted to read it herself. The homeschool mommy in me got very excited and began pulling out all my phonics tools and flashcards, etc. She got very upset with me and emphatically stated that she didn’t want to LEARN, she wanted to READ. And aren’t we just like that with God? I don’t want to LEARN to be patient, loving, kind, etc. I just want to BE those things, and I want to BE them NOW.

      I still pray for patience, I think I may be a glutton for punishment…but I can see areas where He has been at work in my life, and it makes me want them even more. “Forgive me but you made me” may become my new mantra, lol.

      Thanks for the visit, SR. I love you!

  3. You are right, “we are like that with God.” You know, there are some things I am good at and some things I am not. Lyn, I also think God has a sense of humor. I see it in Scripture all the time. Especially with Jonah and the shade tree. Jonah was throwing this big old fit and God was so quite and let him. Then it was like God said, “Are you through now?” I love God’s quietness and responses in these moments. At times, that is how my relationship is with Him. I have to say they are some of my favorite times with Him. God and I laugh together. We are created in His image, so He has to be able to laugh! Love you too, God Bless, SR

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

