One year ago this weekend

I can’t believe it’s been a year since the day we should have died.  I didn’t know how to post pictures back then, so you can see the wonder of it all now.  (Plus, it’s a little bit less traumatic looking back on it, than it was being there).

We hit the poor guy pretty much head on, causing him to roll up onto the hood, and smash right into the passenger side window.  From the inside I watched in fright as the window bowed in, bending and crackling.

  I don’t know why this picture is so little, but here you can see the bowl shape of the windshield.

Side view…he was a big animal.

Here are a couple pictures of the hair he left embedded in our car.  I wish I’d have taken a picture of the elk, he was a big guy for sure.  We hit him with such force that it split his antler and threw it off in another direction, the vet student found it aways off from his resting place.

front of the car with elk hair.

Thank God for airbags!  This is what my side of the interior looked like after.  I cannot believe we walked away from that without one scratch!  At one point, I noticed glass in my mouth (!), but no cuts, no bruises, just very wobbly-kneed right at first then a little sore the next day.

I wrote two blog posts about this incident, you can read them here and here if you’re so inclined.

2 comments on “One year ago this weekend

  1. How our Lord had His Hand on you this day. Thanks for showing these, as it serves to make me always thankful for His protection on our lives. God bless, SR

    • We are so thankful. We received a whole new appreciation for life that night, and realized just how short life is. We are blessed, thanks for coming by.

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

