The Walk

Kristin's photograph from summer, 2011

“I walked a mile with Pleasure,
She chattered all the way;
But left me none the wiser
For all she had to say.

“I walked a mile with Sorrow,
And ne’er a word said she;
But, oh, the things I learned from her
When sorrow walked with me.”

I love this picture.  When we first moved here, we had the wonderful opportunity of enjoying and exploring some beautiful countryside and shoreline.  Our youngest daughter has an eye for beauty and snapped this shot on one of her walks.  I’ve wanted to use it since, and have finally found the perfect place to do so.  I think it pairs well with the poem I found at Streams in the Desert, don’t you?

I’ve been thinking a lot lately of the deep truths we learn in the quietness of our sorrows.  In the quiet, secret place of our soul, a war occurs between all we thought we understood, and the new reality that presents itself as truth.  Through heartbreak and tears, we gain a fresh perspective on life, love, and the eternal; things that we often take for granted in times of plenty.

I’m thankful today for the miles walked with Sorrow.  Difficult as those days were, I am a better person as a result.

By New Things Posted in Poetry

2 comments on “The Walk

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

