Homemade macaroni and cheese

An easy yummy alternative to the boxed stuff.

This simple recipe has fast outdone our normal boxed mac and cheese days.  I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go back.

Cook macaroni noodles according to directions on package.

In a medium saucepan, melt 2 TBSP butter, and enough flour to make a roux, and whisk while slowly adding milk until you have a medium thick gravy.  Add 1/4 to 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese, and stir until melted and blended.  Salt and pepper to taste.  (adjust amount of cheese according to preference…we like it extra cheesy, and sometimes add more.

Drain noodles when cooked, and fold into cheese sauce.

VOILA…easy peasy mac and cheesa…and inexpensive too.

You can serve alone or as a side dish.  For variety, you can add vegies, and/or chopped ham.

Enjoy.

2 comments on “Homemade macaroni and cheese

    • I told my kids I’d keep posting some of the favorite and easy dishes on my blog. This is one that I learned to make in our wilderness, lol. It’s fast become a favorite.

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

