Coleslaw…the KFC way

I found this recipe at Top Secret Recipes and it is fast becoming my most requested dish at BBQ’s and family dinners.  It really does taste just like the stuff at KFC, which is about the only coleslaw that I’ve found that I like.

You’ll need:

1/2 cup mayonnaise (use the real stuff…miracle whip will make it way too sweet)

1/3 cup sugar

1/4 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup milk

2 1/2 TBSP lemon juice

1 1/2 TBSP white vinegar (I’ve used all sorts of different kinds of vinegar with just results just as good as the white stuff)

1/2 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

1 head of cabbage

1 medium carrot

2 TBSP minced onion (I used one whole small onion)

I always mix up the dressing first…Combine the mayonnaise, sugar, buttermilk, milk, lemon juice, white vinegar and salt & pepper in a bowl and whisk it together, then set it aside to be doing it’s thing while you shred the vegies.

Start with the onion and carrott…in a food processor, shred on the smallest setting, then add to dressing mix.

Shred the cabbage on the same setting, then put in a large bowl.  Pour dressing mixture over the top and combine well.  This stuff is best if you refrigerate it overnight, but that NEVER happens when I fix it.  Cover it and refrigerate a couple hours at least…the longer the better.

I have to remember to pull out a bowl in advance of serving it so my husband can have some when he gets off of work, because this stuff is GONE immediately.

 

2 comments on “Coleslaw…the KFC way

    • I think the secret is using the smallest shredder…cabbage done in large chunks just doesn’t absorb the yummy dressing the same way. Hmmm..that just gave me an idea. I think I’ll do up a jar of this dressing so I don’t have to do a large batch of the stuff up at once. With just the three of us here now, I think that might be space/money/time saving.

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

