New Things This Week

I’ve recently happened on a few different blogs that had a recap of their blog week.  I like that idea a lot, and have decided to do my own.  If it catches on, I’ll try to make it a (another) regular “new thing” here.

Welcome!

I’m seeing some new “faces” here, and want to extend a warm welcome.  I hope that my thoughts and brainstorms can be an encouragement to you, and that we would enjoy sweet fellowship together.  Please don’t hesitate to jump in and contribute to the conversation, and please, bounce some of your ideas off my wall while you’re here.

I’d also like to point out the link  to my facebook page on the sidebar.  If you like what you see here, please like me on facebook to receive updates and related content.

What I’m writing:

I have some random thoughts still rattling around in my brain on the subject of suffering.  Nothing that’s come anywhere close to being able to communicate yet…I’ve been a bit preoccupied this week with my Baltimore Catechism series.  I have three entries set to publish and am currently working on my fourth and fifth.  This is a record for me, as I am usually blogging by the seat of my pants, just trying to have something…anything that will pass for content.  I’m enjoying the instruction in my faith, as I dig around the Word of God and the Catechism to answer questions for friends and family members regarding our decision to become Catholic.    As I mentioned before, I’ll be posting this series on Thursdays, and I would LOVE to have feedback both from the perspectives of Catholics, new and established…as well as dialogue with my Protestant brothers and sisters.   If you haven’t yet done so, please read  A Letter to My Christian Friends, the introduction to this series, and the first installment.

I’ve also finally working on a little story for my grandchildren.  When we first moved here, we had a terrible problem with mice, and not just any mice…these ones could lick a mousetrap clean and never set it off, it was mindboggling.  I told my husband I was going to write a story about a little family of mice who are grateful for the food provided to them by the sweet people that just moved in…well I’ve got a rough draft, and am thinking about how I’m going to illustrate it.  I want to publish it for my grandchildren, if nothing else.

Recommended reading:

A Holy Experience’s “Letter to the Wounded” was such a soothing balm to my soul.  If you’re weary and feel like you’re barely hanging on, it will comfort you.  Go read it, and be blessed too.

Called to Communion has a great article on one of the legitimate differences between Catholic and Protestant teaching, Sola Scriptura…it’s a little heavier than I usually attempt, but very informative and well written.

Catholic Cravings’ “When the Earth Was Flat” sets the record straight on age-old misconceptions and misinformation.

In my “spare” time

I’ve started walking.  It feels good and allows me to disconnect a little bit and reconnect to God in prayer.  One of these days I will get a play list set up on my MP3, and enjoy some tunes while I walk.

This week on Netflix:  The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, Skeleton Key, We Were Soldiers and my husband’s favorite, Star Trek the next Generation.

On my prayer list:

If you would pray for me, I have a couple requests.  One:  My arm is killing me.  I’ve had decreased range of motion, pain and swelling in my shoulder and upper arm for going on two months now.  I keep thinking it’s getting better, then I do something to re-injure it again.  Two:  I have two grandbabies due in May.  I would very much appreciate prayer that my girls would carry to full term and experience a speedy and safe labor and delivery.  A former neighbor girl and friend of my girls had a baby this week.  It seems like yesterday they were just kids riding bikes through the neighborhood and playing “PigPen”, and now they are becoming Mommies of their own children.  I am thanking God for a safe delivery and a healthy baby, and continuing to pray for this family, that they would know God’s love for them and walk in His ways.

That’s pretty much it for this week.  Have a great weekend, God bless!

~Lyn

10 comments on “New Things This Week

  1. So glad you posted the “Called to Communion” link! Good stuff for sharing with my friends who have questions…also for helping to calm the occasional arguments of my “inner Protestant”!

    • Thanks, Marilyn! Yes, we’re not all in the same point in our journeys, but can definitely find unity with others on the path. This is a strange season of very little activity for me, trying to be faithful in the little things and do my best with what I have where I am. Blessings! Lyn

  2. I like this new forma/idea you came up witht–it not only brings again to mind what I have read, but the personal, everyday stuff makes me feel a connection, as if I know you, like an old friend.

  3. Hi Lyn,
    Just some food for thought; suffering makes sense when we look to the cross – it has redemptive value. Suffering is also mysterious, which serves to remind us that only God has all the answers.
    You are in our daily prayers.
    WIll be checking out the links you’ve given above lots of good stuff there it seems!

    • Thank you geloruma. Redemptive value from the cross…I love that you put words to some of the thoughts. Learning how to “offer it up” and entrust it to the One who knows, and cares, and loves deeper than we will every comprehend. Yes!

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

