Happy Palm Sunday

Snagged from Catholics Come Home fb page

I’ve heard the story of Palm Sunday a number of times, but today was introduced to the irony of this story marking the beginning of Holy Week.

John 12:12 The next day the great crowd that had come to the festival heard that Jesus was coming to Jerusalem. 13 So they took branches of palm trees and went out to meet him, shouting,

“Hosanna!
Blessed is the one who comes in the name of the Lord—
the King of Israel!”

14 Jesus found a young donkey and sat on it; as it is written:

15 “Do not be afraid, daughter of Zion.
Look, your king is coming,
sitting on a donkey’s colt!”

16 His disciples did not understand these things at first; but when Jesus was glorified, then they remembered that these things had been written of him and had been done to him. 17 So the crowd that had been with him when he called Lazarus out of the tomb and raised him from the dead continued to testify.18 It was also because they heard that he had performed this sign that the crowd went to meet him. 19 The Pharisees then said to one another, “You see, you can do nothing. Look, the world has gone after him!”

How quickly the crowd (who has watched Jesus bring the dead to life) turns from shouts of Hosannah to cries of “Crucify Him!”.  In just a short week’s time, we see Jesus go from the back of a donkey to carrying a cross on his own back…likely through the very same streets.  And nobody, not even his own disciples understood it at first, even though they had been taught, and had seen the prophecies written about Him.

And aren’t we, his disciples, the same?  Isn’t it easy to shout “Hosannah!” when we look to and believe His promises?  But as soon as hard times come, we can easily be turned away to doubt and fear, questioning His goodness, and forgetting His power?

3 comments on “Happy Palm Sunday

  1. Hey Lyn,

    So true so true! It is “so easy” to give our Lord “praise” when life is smooth for us and we trust and believe in Him so much. Then in the hard times, it is a whole other story! Truly that is when we should cry “Hosannah” the most! Good post and thanks for sharing! God Bless, SR

    • Thanks SR.
      Blessed is He who comes in the name of the Lord, Hosannah in the highest!
      I’m learning how to “offer up” my pains and sufferings, which is a new concept to me, and not one that comes easily or naturally, for obvious reasons, I guess. Last week I finally agreed with God that my body is not my own, including the sore arm that He chooses to use with the rest of me. I offered it up to Him as a living sacrifice, and told Him that it’s His arm, and if he wants to use an ache to bring glory to HImself, then I’m glad to let Him have mine. It is such a strange sacrifice, that of praising Him through it instead of whining and complaining (not that I don’t still fall into that awful habit, but I’m in the process of replacing one habit with another). And He does what He says, and gives us beauty for ashes, and gladness for mourning.
      Good thoughts, thanks for jumping in!
      Lyn

  2. Have you ever read the “Diary of St. Faustina?” She is my patron Saint and she taught me “how to suffer” better then any writings I have read. Also she taught me the meaning of suffering, what it can do for us and others, and how to depend on the mercy of Christ. Do not be hard yourself when you “whine.” It is hard to be “joyful” in suffering, that is why we need to ask our Lord, to give us the “grace” of joy when we do. I always offer mine for the children at St. Jude. Offering our sufferings can bring more joy then we will ever know. If my “sufferings” can save one child’s life, and keep the “sorrow from one parent” then it is a suffering well done! I trust that is exactly what happens, when we unite it with the Cross and offer it. There is no other way we can be more “Christ-like.” In my prayers and God Bless, SR

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

