Thoughts on quiet time/devotions

Luke 5:16 reads, “But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.” 

This is so necessary in the life of a Christian.  Often we are so busy, and surrounded by so much noise that we cannot hear God’s voice.

Now, I am, by nature, a social being.  I like to be around people, I don’t usually like my own company…or haven’t learned to fully appreciate it yet…I like talking, and laughing, and interacting.  While I agree, that it’s biblical and wise to pull away sometimes from the noise of the crowd to hear what the Lord wants to say to us,  it does not come naturally for me, and I struggle to make it habit in my own personal life.  Over the past three years, I have often found myself in lonely circumstances that the Lord has graciously used to speak rich truths to my heart that I would not otherwise have heard.

I wonder if that would have been completely necessary if I had developed the habit of withdrawing myself away first?  Hmmmm.

I was amazed at the clarity of my own thought process during my retreat time.  I didn’t completely pull away from everything, but I was able to carve out some extensive quiet time to read and study and listen for God’s voice.  I’m thinking I might have to make this a regular practice and have started thinking about ways to accomplish this on a daily basis.

Do you have a regular daily quiet time?  What does it look like?  I need some inspiration…Inspire me!

13 comments on “Thoughts on quiet time/devotions

  1. Quiet Time…My quiet time and prayer are first thing in the morning ~ I do mean first thing! It’s my time with God, to hear what He needs to tell me, to hear His voice, I do quiet time first thing because if I don’t the world, life tends to envade. I lose my feeling of Him. My day spirals without much thought. My family knows my time with Him is sacred to me. If there are days that I say I’ll do it later, the quiet time is not the same. I don’t feel close to Him, I don’t feel as if He’s guiding me. I need the time with God first thing! 🙂

    • I did this when my kids were young…I’d wake before anyone and read my Bible and pray. Are you using any devotional books? What does that early first thing time look like, practically speaking?

      • I will admit that my morning prayers and quiet time are written in a journal. I find that it’s a great way for me to see God working in my life.

        I pray that He will open my heart and my mind to His word that I may understand what He’s trying to teach me.

        I praise Him in gratitude.

        I read My Utmost for His Highest first. Then do the Calvary Chapel Bible study for that day. As things touch me, or I do aha I write the verse. I’m looking for a promise, a sin to confess, a command to follow, an example, an error to avoid and/or a new thought about God and his ways. I then repeat (in writing/prayer form) what I believe He is trying to tell me.

        I then pray for Hubs, each of our four children and others.

        At night, I read a proverbs. Praise him in gratitude for the day. Anything that seemed “off to me” I confess. I pray for Hubs, each of our children and others.

      • LOVE it, Donna. Thank you, I’m inspired. I struggle with journaling because when I used to do it, it was filled with angst, and painful to look back on…and it took so much longer than typing, lol. I process a lot of what I’m learning on my blog, and I don’t feel as “free” to air my frustrations, if that makes any sense. I use the daily readings and my favorite devotional ever, “Streams in the Desert” by Mrs. Charles Cowman. It is amazing to me how often the two of them coincide in thought and speak to me right where I am at the moment.

        Lyn

      • I love to write! It’s not long or drawn out…more my feelings at the time. Alot of it is anguish as well, but it’s truly amazing to look back and see the blessings, that He has heard my cries. It does make sense about not wanting to “air” certain things. But I think that sometimes airing those thoughts allows Him to bring more people to help you with them. For example… the past few days I’ve felt that the group was not going especially well. I posted a little vent on. A very wise lady led to me to see things differently. Then I received pm’s tht also told me otherwise. So sometimes airing the dirty helps too. BTW I’m good to vent to! 🙂

      • There is a fine line between transparency and imprudence. I’m careful who I vent to, and make sure they love me and want what’s best for me. Been burned too many times sharing my weaknesses with those who would use them to beat me up with.

        Your group is a blessing…if it wasn’t, the devil would not have to spend his time planting seeds of doubt and insecurity in your mind 🙂 You’re doing a good thing, and the bottom line always needs to be “who is this for?” If the answer is the Lord, and you are doing it to the best of your ability, then that’s all that matters.

  2. I meant to say, typing vs. writing allows me to get more of my thoughts out before my overstimulated brain loses some of the thoughts, lol.

  3. I am a pure, natural-born introvert, and I have a terrible time finding time to myself for prayer or anything else. I long for it, pray for it, just to be alone, to get away from chatter and demands . . . I have learned to snatch small moments for a brief prayer: for example: I work at the checkout counter once in a while at the library, and sometimes it goes dead quiet for 3 to 5 minutes. Nobody around. I pace and pray silently then, until someone comes up with questions or in need of help. sometimes also I am in the car alone, and I pray briefly then, too. That is seldom, except on my 9 minute commute to work, which sadly in mostly taken up in searching/planning for a parking place.

    At home, my quiet time is not sacred to man nor canine. I sometimes paint to get quiet time–it is interpreted as me being busy and nobody bothers a busy person, but to sit quietly is to invite interruption.
    I have coped with this by taking my time alone late at night: waiting out hubbie till he goes to bed, then tucking the dogs into their beds, and having a quiet hour at the very end of my day. I paint, read, blog . . . it is a precious time.

    I also have committed to an hour per week in the Adoration Chapel of a local parish, and have taken that time to sit quietly in the Presence of the Lord, where I read Scripture, other spiritual reading, or just try to sit and be open to His Word and Presence. That has been wonderful, I have been going pretty faithfully for almost 15 years. It is the center of my week.

  4. Kat, I can’t wait to live in a place where daily Mass is a possibility…right now we are an hour away from our fellowship, so making it once a week is tough enough. I would love to come to a place where prayer is as natural as breathing, like I read somewhere, practicing or being always aware of His presence in my day. If we are told to pray without ceasing, what does that look like really? I think it’s an attitude of reverence and peace, knowing we are in His hands, and He is present and aware of every little thing that concerns me.

    Lyn

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

