Holy Discomfort, Anger, Tears, and Foolishness

May God bless you with a restless discomfort about easy answers, half-truths and superficial relationships, so that you may seek truth boldly and love deep within your heart.

May God bless you with holy anger at injustice, oppression, and exploitation of people, so that you may tirelessly work for justice, freedom, and peace among all people.

May God bless you with the gift of tears to shed with those who suffer from pain, rejection, starvation, or the loss of all that they cherish, so that you may reach out your hand to comfort them and transform their pain into joy.

May God bless you with enough foolishness to believe that you really CAN make a difference in this world, so that you are able, with God’s grace, to do what others claim cannot be done.

ANd the blessing of God the Supreme Majesty and our Creator, Jesus Christ the Incarnate Word who is our brother and Savior, and the Holy Spirit, our Advocate and Guide, be with you and remain with you, this day and forevermore.

Amen.

Benedictine blessing

6 comments on “Holy Discomfort, Anger, Tears, and Foolishness

    • Thank you, SR. (I thought I had responded to this yesterday…hmmmm?!)

      I love how these things come to me. Before I posted this, I was struggling with obedience in forgiving and praying for an enemy, and I had a sense that I needed to pray for a holy discomfort. For whatever reason, this prayer was easy for me to pray (I’m working on my own heart attitude, so I may have been a wee bit vengeful in my asking at first), and as I did, I was able to pray that this discomfort would guide my enemy to a saving relationship with Jesus, and that I would be able to fully forgive him.

      I look at it this way, if my enemy is a child of God, he will be disciplined by a loving Father…and my prayer for a holy discomfort is in line with God’s will for one of His own. If my enemy is not a child of God, my prayer is still in line with the will of God, because He is not willing that any should perish, but that all would come to repentance. It is also His will that as His child, I walk in forgiveness. If I don’t “feel” it, doesn’t excuse me from obedience.

      As soon as I voiced this to my husband, I looked online and saw that it was the feast day of St. Benedict, and I mentioned that…oblivious to the connection. Then, in a totally random act, I googled “holy discomfort” and this prayer came up at the top of the results.

      Since I don’t believe in coincidence, I can only conclude that St. Benedict chose to spend his day with me, and whispered a prayer tip in my ear. It truly has brought me so much peace, having a specific way to pray for my enemy, and I think that is nothing short of God’s grace to me. It is a further “proof” to me of the communion of the saints, they really can and do participate with us here on earth. They have not ceased being part of the Body of Christ, but are now able to intercede and pray and assist with perfect knowledge, and direct access to the throne of God.

      Thank you Lord, for your beautiful body. Help me to participate fully in it to effect your will on earth, as it is in heaven. Amen

  1. Lyn,

    I know you have to be so precious to God’s heart. You have come so far over the years, and the wisdom you have gained is so great. You have worked so hard for it all, and I see how God has blessed your soul in so many ways because of it. What an inspiration to us all, you are. That with hard work, dedication, trust in God, prayer, and most of all trying to change ourselves into what God wants us to be, God will indeed bless us with a beautiful soul, and in turn we will bless others. You are living proof of that. You always make me want to try harder. That is a good thing! 🙂 Love you and God Bless, SR

    • SR- you have a way of speaking motivational encouragement to me and making me really try to attain your vision. It is a nice thought, the idea of progressing and looking back and seeing just how long and hard that road has been and finding it all worth it, for the sake of becoming who and where and how I find myself here.

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

