Common Sense – doing good

common sense 1

Common sense is not so common these days.  I would like to be part of changing that, and making common sense available, and attainable.

This first truth packs a real punch of freedom and serenity for me.  I can’t do it all, and I was never expected to.  When I watch the news, and I see the immense poverty, unrest, and lack of peace, I can get overwhelmed.  Something needs to be done, but what can I do?

I pray.

I can do that.

And when I see my neighbor in need, or burdened…I find a place where I can help.  I’m nobody special because of it, but I’ve been on the receiving end of being helped and blessed, it’s nice to be on this side and have an opportunity to pay it forward.

I can serve.  I can encourage.

I can do that.

When I see the mountain of laundry, and the sink full of dishes, the unmade bed, and the bathroom tub that needs a scrubbing, it can be overwhelming, and when I’m overwhelmed, it’s easy for me to give up and continue to let it accumulate.  I’ve found a secret here.  It didn’t get that way in fifteen minutes, and it won’t be cleaned up in that time either.  I pick a spot, and go to work.  I know that I will eventually get to the other, but for now, I just work in this one spot until finished, then I can move to the next thing.

I do the next thing.

I can do that.

Like eating an elephant.  One bite at a time.

2 comments on “Common Sense – doing good

  1. Great post Lyn! Being “overwhelmed” with things of the world takes so much peace from us, does it not? This is something I also have had to fight hard to overcome. I think this is one area that comes in line with the verse in Scriptures that says, “We are overcomers.”

    So much in life can overwhelm us if we let it. I like all things done at all times. When Mom got so sick five years ago, my life truly fell apart, many times. It was all I could do to keep up with my parents.

    I have learned if I do not get it done, there will be tomorrow. If there is not tomorrow then I hope I am with Jesus and it will not matter anyways, will it?

    As far as the news and the world. Lyn, I used to get tied up in knots over such things. You know one day I went to the prayer of Jesus where He said, “Lord I am not praying for the world, but for those You gave to me.” I realized Lyn, the world is way too big for me, so I gave it to God. I begin a life of trying to help and pray for those the Lord has given to me in life. Took a lot of stress off. I still pray for the world, but do not worry about it. Mother Teresa said, “Find your own Calcutta in the community you live in.” I took that very much to heart.

    Enjoyed reading and God Bless, SR

    • Thank you, SR. I love to get your insight, you have a way of summing it all up for me.

      “We are overcomers.”
      “…if I do not get it done, there will be tomorrow.”
      “Find your own Calcutta in the community you live in.”

      From God’s heart to my blog…thanks for being his channel, SR.

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

