Common Sense – Justice

common sense 6

From Common Sense by Mother Theodore Guerin (1798-1856)

This piece of advice reminds me of one of my life verses.

Micah 6:8 ~ He has showed you, O man, what is good;
and what does the Lord require of you
but to do justice, and to love kindness,[a]
and to walk humbly with your God?

Another translation reads “do justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with your God”, which is the way I memorized it and sang it for years.  Today, I read the context around this verse, and got a better picture of what this verse is really saying.  Starting with verse 6, there is an introspective question, musing, and finally, in verse 8, the answer:

“With what shall I come before the Lord,
    and bow myself before God on high?
Shall I come before him with burnt offerings,
    with calves a year old?
Will the Lord be pleased with thousands of rams,
    with ten thousands of rivers of oil?
Shall I give my first-born for my transgression,
    the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?”
He has showed you, O man, what is good;
    and what does the Lord require of you
but to do justice, and to love kindness,
    and to walk humbly with your God?

Psalm 51:15-17 echoes this verse…

O Lord, open thou my lips,
    and my mouth shall show forth thy praise.
16 For thou hast no delight in sacrifice;
    were I to give a burnt offering, thou wouldst not be pleased.
17 The sacrifice acceptable to God[e] is a broken spirit;
    a broken and contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.

Which also echoes 1 Samuel 15:22

And Samuel said, “Has the Lord as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, as in obeying the voice of the Lord? Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice, and to hearken than the fat of rams.

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

