the least of these

I’ve been pondering Matthew 25.  Keith Green’s piano piece plays in my mind while I read the account of the Lord separating the sheep from the goats.

We are in a predicament, where we cannot, hard as we try, help ourselves.  It’s uncomfortable, humiliating, and extremely frustrating for the “can-do” temperaments in this home, yet it’s where we are.  While we’ve seen our share of goats, and have been subjected to ungodly, unfair, unloving treatment, I have to say we have been blessed by some wonderful “sheep” from Matthew 25, doing as unto the Lord in assisting us in our predicament.  From a family member with very little, sharing lavishly from his own meager supply, to being laid on the hearts of friends thousands of miles away who wished to extend financial help, to as recent as yesterday, when we found an envelope slipped under our door containing 5 $20 bills, addressed simply to our family.

If I knew who this good Samaritan was, I’d thank him or her.  In racking my brain to figure it out, I’ve come up with a couple possibilities, and have found myself thanking the Lord for them instead.  I don’t know if you know what it feels like to be desperately in need, unwelcome and friendless in a strange place.  While my girls have met some wonderful people here, who seem to love and accept them, this has not been the case for my husband and myself, outside of family.  We are getting to watch the practical application of “I was hungry, and you gave me food to eat, in prison and you visited me, naked and you clothed me”, and are looking forward to the time when we can pay the Lord back in doing the same for someone else in need. Because we know now from the other side, what it means to do it for Jesus by doing it for the least of these, his brothers.

I love the end of Keith Green’s song, where he states very emphatically, that the only difference between the sheep and the goats, according to this scripture, is what they did or didn’t do.

 

Please leave a comment so I know you were here!

